LS Motor into your K5

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Parts Needed:

Chevy Dana 60 front, 2wd steering box for my 90' k5. Donor 1973-75 k5 body and frame.
    My Build Thread:
    LSX K5 Build

LS Motor into your K5

Alright im gunna get this started. this will take me a while so bear with me! Im still not sure how im going to organize the info so i will be changing it up a bit as i go along. ill be adding pictures and links later. this is a rough draft to get my ideas down!

**DISCLAIMER**

I am not a professional, I do not do this all the time, this is the only swap i have done. There a a ton of ways to skin this cat. your results and budgets will vary

lets get started!!

to start, ill post what i started with and what i used

I have a 1990 K5 blazer that came with a 5.7 350TBI, 700r4, and NP241c.

WHAT I BOUGHT

your options for donor motors are almost limitless. I used a 5.3L LM7 from a 2004 Tahoe that i bought from Bryan at BD Turnkey Engines http://bdturnkeyengines.com/ . i also opted for the upgraded LS6 cam and LS6 valve springs. It came with a Drive By Wire (DBW) throttle body and also had no EGR and it also has a returnless fuel system. The transmission i Used was originally from a 2004 tahoe as well (didnt plan on that, just dumb luck) and was custom built by Westminister Performance Transmission.

HOW TO MOUNT YOUR DRIVETRAIN